16 June 2009

Jerusalem, Ohio

There are three Jerusalems in Ohio in Hamilton, Lucas, and Monroe counties.
Jerusalem is a populated place in Hamilton County, Ohio's second largest county with a population of 845,000 including Cincinnati, 6,205 miles from Jerusalem, Israel.
Jerusalem Township in Lucas County has a population of 3,181.
The village of Jerusalem in Monroe County, Ohio, has a population of 152.

On July 4, 1776, the same day that independence from Great Britain was declared by the thirteen states, the Continental Congress named a committee to design a Great Seal, or national emblem, for the new USA. The committee consisted of Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and John Adams. They were three of the five primary authors of the Declaration of Independence. Franklin chose an allegorical scene from Exodus, described in his notes as "Moses standing on the Shore, and extending his Hand over the Sea, thereby causing the same to overwhelm Pharaoh who is sitting in an open Chariot, a Crown on his Head and a Sword in his Hand. Rays from a Pillar of Fire in the Clouds reaching to Moses, to express that he acts by Command of the Deity." Motto, "Rebellion to Tyrants is Obedience to God." Jefferson suggested a depiction of the Children of Israel in the wilderness, led by a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night for the front of the seal.

1998 postage stamp honoring Israel's capital, Jerusalem, designed by Meir Eshel, graphic design teacher at Emuna College in Jerusalem, where I head the School of the Art, and 1902 Benjamin Franklin one-cent stamp with "Jerusalem, Ohio" postmark

No comments:

Post a Comment